Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

This product has gotten a lot of attention on this blog in the few posts I’ve written and that’s because I literally cannot get over this product so I thought I’d give a solo review on them and explain why I love them so much!

 

ImageImage

 

L to R: Zurich, Cannes, Tokyo, Milan, Antwerp, Prague and Monte Carlo.

I bought the middle three (Tokyo, Milan and Antwerp) back in February when Target stores were just getting NYX. I thought these would have been the colours I might wear the most, plus, I had to buy Antwerp because its the name of a city in one of my favourite countries. Then I bought Monte Carlo when all Target stores were stocking NYX and I bought Zurich, Cannes and Prague a few weeks ago from Cherry Culture.

Description:

Neither lipstick nor lip gloss, this matte lip cream is a new kind of lip color that goes on silky smooth and sets to a matte finish. Soft Matte Lip Cream is surprisingly durable and, unlike some matte lipstick formulas, also moisturizing.” NYX Website.

When it is first applied, it feels a bit like you’re painting. It doesn’t feel like a lipstick when you’re applying it but it definitely looks like a lipstick in terms of colour pay off. It’s really pigmented with full color coverage in nearly one swipe. It applies really evenly, and it dries down to a satin-matte finish in about thirty seconds. After a few hours of wear, it is fully matte. Its extremely creamy without the shine of a cream finish. I wouldn’t say that it is a ‘moisturising’ formula. Certain colours have been a bit drying and I always apply a lip balm before I apply any of these. It would also be good to exfoliate your lips or make sure you don’t have any kind of dryness on your lips because the product will cling to it.

The Smell:

This has a sort of vanilla scent to it that a love. I think its a big part of why I love it. It just smells so yummy.

 

Wear:

This product lasts a really long time on the lips. I am pretty much drinking constantly and this lasts a really long time for me. I know a lot of people have said 6 hours but I don’t go that long between meals unless its dinner to breakfast haha. You can easily reapply it and it doesn’t look cakey on the lips. After a while there can be this line in the inner part of your bottom lip of the product bunching up a bit. I’m not sure how to explain it but that can be a bit weird. But other than that it wears really well, doesn’t really transfer and some of the darker colours leave behind a little bit of a stain!

Lip Swatches:

It became evident in this review that I don’t take enough selfies -_-
I wear this product so often but I only seem to have a few photos of me actually wearing it! So here are the photos I found of me wearing two of the colours I own!

ImageImage

 

L to R: Monte Carlo and Prague.

 

Overall:

I adore this product and would recommend it to anyone who likes matte or almost matte lip colour or even anyone who wants to try something new. I really love it and I think a heck of a lot of people would love it. And it must be good if so many people have written about it already 😉

4.5/5

3 thoughts on “Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

Leave a Reply

