Review: Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet

Today I was in Priceline and the eight new Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet lip creams were on sale for $10. I had been wanting to try them since I saw them first released but they were $25 and I don’t think that I’d buy it for that price considering I hadn’t really heard anything about it other than just swatching them in store.

image image (1) image (5)

L to R: Pink Pong and Grand Cru.

I had only swatched Pink Pong when I was running around Priceline deciding what to buy and then at the last minute decided I was going to buy both colours and not just Pink Pong.

image (4)

L to R: Pink Pong and Grand Cru

So as you can see, the pigmentation of Pink Pong is pretty impressive. Now if you’ve read any of my previous posts, I am in love with NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams and I was hoping that these would be similar to them and I guess only one of the colours I picked up was.

Pink Pong is a bright fuchsia pink and it is highly pigmented and creamy and pretty much everything you could want in a matte lip cream. But Grand Cru was a pretty big disappointment. I put layers and layers of this colour on to try and get it to look good next to Pink Pong. I had swatched the nude pink in this collection and a few others and they were really pigmented and I am kicking myself for just getting Grand Cru because I have been loving this sort of red lately. It has very little pigmentation. Its probably similar to the Revlon Lip Butters or just a tinted lip balm on first swap. Its just shocking compared to the other colours available.

Description:

“Rouge Edition Velvet by Bourjois is the new era of lipsticks. An amazing, irresistible formula. Its soft, melting texture glides on to the lips and turns into a matte, velvety and incredibly light colour. Lips are left smooth and soft as velvet. Enriched with evanescent oils, it’s incredibly sensuous formula provides a soft, second-skin feel, without drying or fading lips. As a colour expert brand, Bourjois knows that saturated colours are enhanced by an amazing matte finish. Rouge Edition Velvet shades are true “colour shots” with a chic matte finish! Thanks to the formula being saturated with pure pigments, each shade perfectly covers lips with bold, very intense colour. An ultra-fashionable result, straight from the catwalk! Rouge Edition Velvet lasts 24 hours, no need for constant touch-ups! A chic fashion accessory! With its transparent bottle and shade-tinted cap, the Rouge edition lipstick is a must-have fashion accessory to show off! Its slant foam applicator makes application precise and easy, delivering just the right amount of formula. 69.7% of women agree that it’s easier to apply than a classic lipstick!” – Bourjois Cosmetics

The texture of this is a lot creamier and more liquidy than the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams which I think is good. It makes it easy to apply and you can apply layer upon layers without it getting really thick and clumpy. Its extremely comfortable to wear, it doesn’t feel like you’re wearing anything at all which is great! It also doesn’t really transfer at all! I kissed my hand after half an hour and only the ring around my lips transferred.

I think the pigmentation quotes can be said for most of the colours in this line but certainly not all. Especially Grand Cru. I ended up watching some French Youtubers talk about the colours and Grand Cru’s pigmentation is certainly the worst. If you build it up it definitely gets better but its not the level of pigmentation deserved at such an expensive price. Especially when you can pay less and get a much better product.

The wear is really really good. The girl in Priceline kept telling me that I wont regret buying these and she was wearing Pink Pong and it looked amazing and she’d been wearing it for 6 hours.

Here are my lip swatches:

image (3) image (2)

 

L to R: Pink Pong and Grand Cru

(apologies for the shocking skin situation)

 

Overall:

So, I would recommend this product if you can find it on sale because most of the colours in this line are really beautiful. They don’t really have a great range of colours. They don’t have any nudes, just a natural looking pink which is really pretty. I would definitely recommend Pink Pong and Ole Flamingo! because they are probably the stand out shades in this line. I hope they bring out more colours and maaaaybe consider dropping the price a little bit.
3.5/5

6 thoughts on “Review: Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet

Leave a Reply

