Spring/Summer Lipsticks!

This post is a follow up to the post I made about Fall/Winter Lipsticks. I thought this might be more appropriate for those in the Southern Hemisphere, like me, who are heading into Summer! The best part of these seasons is my birthday, end of uni year and of course the holidays like Halloween, Christmas and New Years. I  want to point out again that you don’t have to wear these colours in these season. You can wear whatever colour at whatever time. You make your own rules for makeup!

So, here is my large collection of Spring and Summer colours:

IMG_6241

Yeah, I went a bit overboard with lipsticks for this. Trust me, I regretted it later when I had to go and swatch them all and now my hand is crying. All the regrets, all the time. I don’t own many ‘high end’ products, there are 5 here but I generally buy drugstore products. When I think of this time of year, I think of brights, corals and fuchsia. I don’t wear many pastels at all because my skin is so pale that is can often make me look like a little zombie and I’m not really a fan of that look. I don’t have a ‘worn photo’ for everything but I do have hand swatches for everything. I have so many selfies on my phone and its a miracle I even remember which lipstick out of my like 200+ that I am wearing that day.

Etude House Etoinette in POR202, Dear My Blooming Lips Talk in PK005, Minnie Mouse Pink.

IMG_6243

IMG_6244

Two of the three lipsticks are stamped and I think they’re really pretty!

IMG_6245 IMG_6246

IMG_6249

I love Etude House and I think that they are affordable and worth checking out. They have a large range of different finishes and really, you could even just buy the lipstick for the packaging. Its just adorable. My favourite collection is the Etoinette collection and I can only find them on eBay now, I think that collection isn’t being stocked anymore, correct me if I’m wrong.

Lancôme Rouge in Love lipstick in 351B and gloss in 385:

IMG_6250

IMG_6251

IMG_5877

The third swatch is the gloss and lipstick combined. I really like the way that they look together. I got both of these while I was travelling in France at the end of last year so they’re extra special. Let me just say though that I never would have bought this shade if I knew that this was going to be such a bright pink. In Duty Free it looked like an everyday pink, so that was a bit of a bummer but I like this shade now and I wear it quite frequently.

Revlon Lip Butter in Peach Parfait and Super Lustrous Lipstick in Coralberry:

IMG_6252

IMG_6254

 

500x500

The Lip Butters were really over hyped when they first came out and I think that may be why a lot of people don’t give them much attention now because they definitely aren’t worth that amount of hype. However, I do think that they are still a great product. Peach Parfait has little flecks of gold in it so if you don’t like glitter then I wouldn’t recommend it but I think that this is such a perfect colour to wear with coral, gold and peachy makeup, like in the photo above. Coralberry is one of my favourite Revlon lipsticks. I’d been running around looking for it for months and none of the Priceline’s in my area had it but I eventually found it and I just love it. It is a peachy orange colour and I think it really suits Summer.

Rimmel Stay Glossy in 640 All Day Seduction, Apocalips in Stellar, Moisture Renew in Back to Fuchsia and In Love With Ginger:

IMG_6256

IMG_6258

I don’t use the Rimmel glosses enough, they’re really nice. I especially think that this gloss would compliment a lot of the lipsticks that I’m talking about in this post. I think most people know about the Apocalips or Show Offs, I don’t wear them very much because they’re a little bit too creamy for me BUT HAVE A LOOK AT THAT PIGMENTATION. It looks like I’ve swiped paint on to my hand! Stellar is a gorgeous orange red and I definitely plan on wearing this a heck of a lot in Spring and Summer. The new formula of the Moisture Renew line are more… creamy? They felt more like their regular line before they were revamped and I think I like them better the old way but the new colours in the new formula are perfection. In Love With Ginger has a hint of red in it so it isn’t such a stark orange colour, I think that it is pretty wearable.

Covergirl lipstick in Spellbound:

IMG_6260

IMG_6261

I LOVE this lipstick. I had only ever tried Covergirl foundation and mascara until the start of this year when I found out that this is a dupe for MAC’s Girl About Town. They are creamy but not too creamy and this one in particular has great pigmentation.

Rimmel Lasting Finish in Firecracker:

IMG_6262

IMG_6263

Firecracker is a really pretty coral red, I think that it is pretty unique and I’d recommend checking it out!

Milani Color Statement in Hot Pink Rage:

IMG_6264

IMG_6265

I have a deep love for the Milani Color Statement range. I have to buy them on Cherry Culture though so I do a lot of research before I buy them. I have all three matte shades and I think that they are fantastic. They smell great, they look great, and they make you feel great. Great, great, great.

MAC Speak Louder, Speed Dial and Crosswires:

IMG_6266

IMG_6268

Speak Louder

IMG_5906

Speed Dial

IMG_3565

I love these MAC lipsticks. Speak Louder is a colour I bought on a whim and I still am unsure if I regret it or not. I love the lipstick but I think I have lots like it. Speed Dial is really pretty! Speed Dial and Crosswires were also France purchases that were bought in the middle of France winter, ready for me to come back to Australian summer (bleh). All of these are cremesheens.

Maybelline Vivids in Hot Plum, Fuchsia Flash, Shocking Coral and Vivid Rose:

IMG_6269

IMG_6270

I love these lipsticks! They are the best of the Maybelline lip range in my opinion. They are highly pigmented and they stain your lips nicely so when the colour does wear off, you’re left with a pretty stain. We still don’t have the matte collection in Australia so I might have a different opinion on what is the best in the range when they arrive but from what they have in our stores, I definitely think that these are the best. And there are some more wearable shades in this collection, so if you are looking for something more toned down, you could probably find it.

Sportsgirl Pout About It lipsticks in Catwalk Queen and Mad About You:

IMG_6272

IMG_6273

Mad About You

Bright Pink Lipstick Day

I don’t hear much about these lipsticks and I think that might be because they are part of a clothing store brand some of their lipsticks are great! Check out those colours!

Bourjois Rouge Velvet in Pink Pong and Color Boost Balm in Orange Punch:

IMG_6275

IMG_6276

I love the Rouge Velvet creams (minus Grand Cru) but I don’t like the price, if you ever see these on sale for a decent price, snap them up! The Color Boost Balm is much like every other balm stick on the market, its cheaper than the Revlon ones but it is also less pigmented. I love the colour though.

Australis Velourlips in MI-A-MEE:

IMG_6277

IMG_6278

velour lips new 5

This is one of my absolute favourite lip products! I love the colour and I love love love the lasting power of these lipsticks! If you don’t want the heat to melt away your hard work, I’d recommend picking this up!

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Antwerp:

IMG_6280

IMG_6281

 

The tube looks very orange in this photo and I apologise because I didn’t notice it until it was on my computer. The swatch is true to colour though. I was struggling to get the product out as I think this has started drying up on me but this is a great product and it smells amazing.

I hope that you found this post helpful! What lip colours and combinations do you want to be wearing this Spring/Summer?

ArrivederLa xxx

 

Leave a Reply

