Review: New Australis Velourlips shades + Lip Swatches!

I was so excited for the latest Velourlips shades to be released. I was stalking Australis’ social media like crazy and this week, I’d been at the shops every day looking for them in case they’d been released without my knowledge. I really wanted to wear one of the shades on Valentine’s Day so I didn’t want to order the colours. I’ve reviewed the Velourlips in the past, you can read that post here. I have most of the colours now. I think I am only missing 3 shades out of 15.

Here are the new shades:

IMG_0345

L to R: RO-MA, BAR-THA-LONA, SHANG-HI!, DOO-BAI, BUDA-PASH

The dark colours were especially exciting to me. These have kinda been my substitute for the Lime Crime Velvetines, as I don’t want to buy them for a number of reasons and now they have more colours that are comparable. BUDA-PASH reminds me a lot of Lime Crime’s Wicked, which was a colour I almost bought Lime Crime for – shame on me. However, I think now that I own the colour, it is a lot darker than Wicked, which is good for me haha.

Here are the lip swatches:

IMG_0340

RO-MA

This colour is like a neon-pink. It is pretty similar to the pink that they brought out in their original line but it’s lighter. I don’t own anything like this so I don’t even know what it could compare to. I guess it might be a warmer version of MAC’s Saint Germain? I like to think of this as a neon, strawberry milk shake shade. I don’t really see how this colour represents Italy but I like the colour, nonetheless.

IMG_0341

BAR-THA-LONA

This and RO-MA were two shades I thought I might skip in this collection. They both aren’t really autumn/winter shades but I wanted to have the whole collection. I do like this colour on me but I definitely think that I have colours like this in my collection. Revlon’s Love That Pink comes to mind. This colour also looks a lot like NY-CEE and MI-A-MEE from previous releases. Maybe if these two colours got together and became cooler, they would make BAR-THA-LONA haha.

IMG_0342

SHANG-HI!

This was the colour that I was most looking forward to. These types of shades are my preferred shades to wear because I think that they suit my skin tone best. I wore this lipstick on Valentine’s Day and my boyfriend said he really liked it. This reminds me a lot of the Savvy lip cream that I have, I’ll swatch it next to SHANG-HI! soon and make a post about dupes.

IMG_0343

DOO-BAI

This was the colour that sold me this release. Both the name and the colour were perfect. I met one of my best friends in Dubai and we both love wearing dark-plummy colours, so this is absolutely perfect. I love the colour and I can’t wait to wear it a tonne in autumn/winter.

IMG_0344

BUDA-PASH

This colour looks exactly the same as my Bite Hyper Pigment Pencil in Bramble. These colours are super popular for autumn/winter and I love that I now have this colour in a matte formula. The colour looks pretty brown in the tube but it definitely doesn’t look as brown on the lips. I love this colour so much and I’m so glad that I bought it.

So, I definitely think that you should buy these if you can buy them near you. They’re definitely worth it. They can be drying but that’s expected, you just need to make sure you use a lip balm before hand and make sure that you don’t have dryskin on your lips haha. They’re only $9.99 AUD and they go on sale all the time so you’ll always get them at a good price.

Hope that you’re all having a great day!

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on twitter

or follow this blog! πŸ™‚

ArrivederLa xxx

One thought on “Review: New Australis Velourlips shades + Lip Swatches!

Leave a Reply

