NYX FACE Awards: Timeless Beauty

As I’ve mentioned, I am going to attempt to do every NYX FACE Awards challenge and the first one is Timeless Beauty. You can go any route with this and I probably chose the most predictable one but I chose it for a couple of different reasons that I’ll talk about later on in the post.

Here is my entry for Timeless Beauty:

11327793_10153141307627530_724641242_nThere is something about a red lip and winged eyeliner that is so simple yet it makes quite a bold statement. The reason that I chose this look for this challenge is because all through history, women wanted rosy cheeks and red lips. This level of pigmentation is probably mostly suited to the last 100 years, but red lips, in varying levels of pigmentation have almost always been fashionable and I think that they always will be. Red lips are empowering. When wearing red lipstick, it can often feel like you can do anything. When I’m having a bad day, I always wear red lips to help boost my confidence.

11261462_10153141324897530_1307109531_n

Red lips in literature:

Snow White/Schneewittchen: “Oh how I wish that I had a daughter that had skin as white as snow, lips as red as blood, and hair as black as ebony”

Celebrity quotes:

Rose McGowan: “I came out of the womb waving red lipstick”.
Dolly Parton: “Until I was a teenager, I used red pokeberries for lipstick.”

11121904_10153141329107530_1613351355_n

Celebrities known for red lips:

Marilyn Monroe
Dita Von Teese
Gwen Stefani
Scarlet Johansson
Taylor Swift
Rita Hayworth
Lucille Ball
Elizabeth Taylor
Selena

11304050_10153141331167530_1527658673_n

Red lipstick was used in the Roman Empire as a status marker. Even men wore red lipstick. Queen Elizabeth II commissioned her own lipstick shade to match her coronation robes at the 1952 ceremony. The soft red-blue was dubbed “The Balmoral Lipstick,” named after her Scottish country home.

I hope that you are all having a fantastic day!

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on twitter

or follow this blog! 🙂

Au revoir xxx

 

Get 10% off storewide at Rouche Boutique with the code ‘PASTELSPARKLES’ excludes sigma products.
Get 10% off storewide at Adelaide Little Lens with the code ‘SarahBakker’.

Leave a Reply

