Once Upon a Liptember

Hey guys!

Today I’m talking about something very special that I will be participating in. I know that it will be something that a lot of people are passionate about and seeing as it is to do with makeup, I thought that I’d share it on here too!

pink-divider-no-background-md

11902496_430094787181902_8806946927652262829_n

What is Liptember?

Liptember is a campaign that raises funds and awareness for women’s mental health during the month of September. All funds that are raised during the month of September are donated to the Centre For Women’s Mental Health and Lifeline. The idea is that you wear a bold coloured lipstick for one day, one week or the entire month of September to raise money and spread awareness.

Some might be thinking, ‘But Sarah, what does wearing a bold coloured lippie do to raise money and spread awareness for mental health?’
I don’t know about you, but I don’t see people wearing blue, green, yellow, etc. coloured lips on the daily and maybe someone might say, ‘hey, awesome lipstick’. And I’d have the opportunity to say, ‘thanks! I’m wearing it for Liptember, which is a fundraiser for Women’s Mental Health!’

Maybe the situation won’t go exactly like that but you get the idea.

I pledged to wear a bold, obscure lipstick for each day of September and I will be sharing my lip colour of the day on Instagram and I might even make weekly lip update posts and I can talk about whether I’ve been able to discuss whether this has been a successful way for me to spread awareness.

Why Am I Getting Involved?

The reason that I feel so passionately about this campaign is because mental illness has affected me, my friends, family members and work mates.
I suffer from depression and social anxiety but I have been able to keep both of them under control with the support of those close to me.

So now I’m going to spew some statistics at you~
Almost half of the Australian population will deal with a mental health issue at some point in their lives.
-20% of the Australian population aged 16-85 years, experienced mental disorders in the previous 12 months
-Only one third of people (34.9%) with a mental health disorder used health services for their mental health problem – and two thirds of people with a mental health disorder did not report using services for their mental health disorder.
-Depression alone is predicted to be one of the world’s largest health problems by 2020. (only 5 years away!!)
-Mental disorders and suicide account for 14.2 % of Australia’s total health burden – which equates to 374,541 years of healthy life lost
-Reports indicate that up to 85% of homeless people have a mental illness.

Stats from here

What Can You Do To Support?

Firstly, you could start your own campaign on the website and have your friends and family support you to support mental health.
Or, if you don’t want to take on the challenge,
You could share my campaign and support me whilst I try to raise money for Liptember. Here is my campaign.

I’ll be making a post soon about some lipstick options that you might be interested in if you do want to participate. I’m also kinda making it for myself so that I remember my options over the next month!

pink-divider-no-background-md

Thanks for reading, I hope that this has been interesting and informative.

I hope that you guys are having a great day!

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on twitter

or follow this blog! 🙂

Au revoir xxx

Leave a Reply

