Review: BH Cosmetics Pride and Prejudice and Zombies palette!

Hey guys!

Today’s post is all about the newly released BH Cosmetics Pride + Prejudice + Zombies palette that they released with the premiere of the new movie! They also released a lip gloss set which I will also be reviewing but for now, I just want to focus on the palette. I remember reading the book not long after Jane Austen’s copyright ran out, allowing for people to use the story and create humourous novels, like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. Regardless of whether I was going to enjoy the movie, I wanted the items because of my love for Austen’s work and for what has come about because of it! I hope that you enjoy this review!

pink-divider-no-background-md

12736835_10153716873382530_1047881692_o

I love the packaging of the product, it is mysterious and creepy with those little zombie hands poking up from the bottom of the palette. I love the filigree pattern on the borders of the palette, I think that they make for a classic touch that fits well with the story. The palette contains 12 eyeshadows and three cheek products.

12754846_10153716873227530_863073649_o

The quote on the inside of the palette reads, “I shall never relinquish my sword for a ring”.

The palette has a mixture of mattes and shimmers, which I love because it means I can use the palette on it’s own. I also love that there are two creamy colours that can be used as base shades or highlight shades, depending on how you’d like to use them. The only thing that I really think that this palette is lacking is a cool brown shade for the crease. The browns in this palette are very red toned and are a little bit hard to work with but I know that that sort of colour is right on trend at the moment.

12722558_10153716873577530_1022740133_o

The first shade on the top row is swatched on my arm but it blended right into my skin colour, which is why it looks like I left a little gap in my swatches haha. As you can see, the other shades are nicely pigmented and the shimmers are especially stunning. I like how you could use the rows separately for a warm look and a cool look. One thing that disappointed me as I swatched them was that the shimmery silver beside the black was only shimmery on the top layer. There is nothing more disappointing to me than a shimmery overlaying and then a near matte shade underneath that has no where near the same appeal. I’m sure that I can get some use out of it but it feels a bit like false advertising when this happens.

12755337_10153716873487530_2131245082_o

The cheek shades are really nice. The first is a shimmery champagne highlight that is very pigmented. It looks really nice on the cheekbones and isn’t too dark for my skin, which is a bonus. If it is too dark for your skin, it does work really great as an eyeshadow. The blushes in this palette are super pigmented and I actually had a little bit of trouble applying them. I don’t expect amazing quality for the price I pay for these so for what I paid for them, they’re a good product and if they do become to bright on the cheek, you can always tone them down with your powder brush.

12736588_10153716873627530_1372595073_o

Overall, I think that the palette is nice. I wish that they had names for the different shades that tied the palette into the movie more. I love writing names for shades so BH Cosmetics, feel free to hire me.
pink-divider-no-background-md

I hope that you are all having a wonderful day and I can’t wait to share my next post with you!

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on instagram

or follow this blog! 🙂

Au revoir xxx

 

Leave a Reply

