Review: theBalm Balm Shelter Tinted Moisturiser

Hey guys!

On my quest to find a good base product that is cruelty free and easily available, I stumbled across one of my favourite brand’s tinted moisturisers and I thought I’d give it a go! I’ve never used a tinted moisturiser but I am familiar with Asian BB creams and from reviews, this product is supposed to have pretty decent pigmentation and lasts well. I put it to the test and I’m ready to talk about the results!

pink-divider-no-background-md

13242097_10153959070182530_151945991_o

This is what the product looks like. I picked this up at the same time as I purchased my most coveted liquid lip product, the Meet Matt(e) Hughes in the shade Charming. The packaging is pretty plain for theBalm but the outer box was more exciting. I applied this with my fingers on to my face after I’d finished my morning skincare routine and you could see a bit more texture than usual but my overall skin-tone was greatly improved. This doesn’t have the same pigmentation as the Asian BB creams that I’ve tried but it does have enough for me to be very confident when walking to the shops to get some groceries. I applied all of the rest of my makeup like I would if I was wearing a normal foundation and honestly, it didn’t look too different.

13250415_10153959078932530_1813032620_n

You can see a bit of texture on and around the tip of my nose in this picture, which decided to have little dry patches, for some particular reason. I would apply my normal foundation with a makeup sponge so maybe my lack of sponge application made for more texture but it wasn’t too bad. I didn’t want to try with a sponge because I feel like the product just might get sucked away and this product really should be a no-fuss type of thing. The only real difference that it made to my regular makeup was that it looked less cakey and you could see more of my skin through the makeup, which I like because it kinda makes it a bit more real looking. I felt a bit like Jkissa with her flawless, foundation-less skin. I read that this can be built up to a light-medium coverage but I wouldn’t go that far. Because of the moisturiser element, the pigment just slides around and spreads out so you’d be better to go in with a concealer if you wanted more coverage.

This product lasted really well. I get oily around midday thanks to my dehydrated skin and the product didn’t break up at all or get shiny. It did glow a bit on my face, like I’d added a light dusting of an hourglass powder on my face, but it didn’t look gross. I’d probably only wear this when I know I’m not going to be out for very long or I’m going somewhere where I wouldn’t might not wearing any makeup at all (like the vegan shop that I frequent every Saturday).

I’d definitely recommend this if you’re in the market for a product like this. I know it’s going to come in handy and it’ll definitely be making a reappearance on my blog for my Journey to Cruelty Free posts. It’s a good product, good value for money and good for the animals, what more could you want?

pink-divider-no-background-md

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me onย instagram

or follow this blog!:)

Au revoirย xxx

 

2 thoughts on “Review: theBalm Balm Shelter Tinted Moisturiser

Leave a Reply

