Review: Burt’s Bees Lipstick

Hey guys!

I’d been eyeing this product off on Instagram for quite some time before it arrived in Priceline stores in my city and because I love this brand so much, I really wanted to try out their new lipsticks. I believe they’re just Burt’s Bees lipsticks, I don’t think they have any fancy names because they don’t have any other lipsticks in their range as of yet but feel free to correct me if they do have another name. Burt’s Bees is cruelty free and they do not sell to China, but their parent company does, so be aware of that if that is something you want to look out for. I hope that you enjoy!

pink-divider-no-background-md

13340831_10153990057767530_106797372_o

The first thing that I want to talk about is the price. At Priceline and on the Burt’s Bees website, these retail for $19.99, which, in my opinion, is a pretty penny for a lipstick that is quite sheer. Even if the packaging is to die for, that is sort of up there in price, especially for Burt’s Bees, who I consider to be relatively low end. I didn’t purchase these at full price, despite my urges to. I picked these up for 30% off at Priceline but by the time this post goes live, I don’t think the sale will be on anymore. If you end up wanting to pick one up based on my review, I’d wait for another sale because I do believe that they are worth picking up but the price is a little heartbreaking haha.

These lipsticks are GORGEOUS. The packaging is sleek and cute, which I think really embodies the brand as a whole. They’re never over the top but you want to have all of their products on display because they’re so cute. Each lipstick has a honeycomb design on it and the background of the honeycomb corresponds to the colour of the lipstick, which I think is really neat. They’re also super easy to store both upright and upside down for that sticker view in your drawers haha. The packaging is 10/10 for me.

The two shades that I purchased were 500 Nile Nude (the lightest shade available) and 501 Blush Basin. The formula is creamy and it is quite sheer but can be built up to a nice opacity, allowing those of us who enjoy more pigmented lipsticks to get a lot of use out of these. The only downside to that is you’re using more product but how many lipsticks have you really used up in your life. I don’t even know if I’ve used one up before it needed to be thrown away.

The staying power is not bad at all. I’d say that it performed about as well as any standard cream lipstick, and I think it is comparable to MAC Cremesheen finish lipsticks. Because it is a cream formula, I didn’t want to purchase any dark shades because they tend to wander outside of the lip line and become messy, where nudes are here for a good time and I don’t have to worry about looking crazier than usual.

Here is a swatch of the two shades on my hand. I only did one stroke of each shade on my hand so this isn’t the full opacity that can be achieved with this lipstick but it does give you an idea of the colour and the formula.

13334413_10153990057842530_2133057821_o

501 Blush Basin was a real pain to find because once the sale started, it was nowhere to be found. I believe it was quite a coveted shade and it was definitely the shade I was initially most attracted to when I first saw the promo images. Due to its popularity, I picked up 500 Nile Nude in the interim and have thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it looks really nice and neutral without washing me out, which is usually a big issue for me with my pale skin.

Here is 500 Nile Nude on my lips. I posted this photo yesterday and it wore really nicely and was incredibly comfortable.

13349056_10153990057532530_2047123416_n

So, you might be wondering what’s so special about these lipsticks that you might be persuaded to purchase them. Not only do I think the packaging is really adorable and makes for a nice lipstick display, I think that the Burt’s Bees lipsticks offer a really comfortable formula in a range of wearable colours. They really offer something for everyone and if you are interested, I’m sure that you’ll fall in love with whichever shade(s) you chose to purchase. I love Burt’s Bees as a brand and enjoy many of their products and it makes it really easy for me to promote them. And I’m certainly not sponsored to say that, they just make genuinely good products.

pink-divider-no-background-md

Have you tried any of the Burt’s Bees lipsticks?

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on instagram

Subscribe to my mailing list

or follow this blog!:)

Au revoir xxx

4 thoughts on “Review: Burt’s Bees Lipstick

Leave a Reply

