Holly Jolly Holiday Tag!

Hey guys!

With Christmas fast approaching, I wanted to start my Christmas themed posts with a Christmas tag! This tag is pretty old but I love it and I really hope that you enjoy it!

1

15181258_10154517957292530_730702956536665767_n

movie-mcc-promo03-crachits

Favourite Christmas movie?

My very favourite Christmas movie is Muppet’s Christmas Carol. I watch this every year either on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day and I’ve done that since I was very young. I love the story of A Christmas Carol but the Muppet’s version is by far my favourite because of all of the fun songs. A runner up to this is Love Actually. I might do a list of my top 10 movie picks for Christmas later in the month if I find a way to fit it in.

Are you on the Naughty list or the Nice list?

I really don’t know what list I’d put myself on for this. I don’t want to risk sounding pretentious by saying I’m on the nice list or sound too cheeky and say I’m on the naughty list. I do, however, probably lean more toward the nice list haha.

1650_46361426287_2797_n
Show us an embarrassing Christmas Card photo!

My family never actually made Christmas Cards, to my knowledge. So as a consolation, the photo above is an embarrassing look from a Christmas 8 years ago.

Have you ever had a White Christmas?

Being from Australia, I’ve never had a White Christmas because it’s usually nearing 40 degree heat in the first month of our summer, by Christmas Day. However I did come close to it when I went to France on exchange back in 2013 but I left just before December. So short answer, no.

Where do you usually spend your holiday?

I usually spend Christmas Day at my Nonna’s house. Most of my family goes there for Christmas lunch and we have too much food and I often repeat that photo that I shared before. It’s the best because I feel like Nonna’s house is somewhere that I really feel the family spirit in general and that’s what I love most about Christmas.

Play your favorite Christmas song!

Every time this song comes on at work, I’m instantly in a better mood. I love this song to bits but Mariah does it best. Michael Buble’s Christmas album is my favourite Christmas album but his version of this just doesn’t compare to Mariah’s, or the ‘extra festive version’ haha. I also love this song because I always think of Love Actually when Joanna is singing it at the school Christmas show and sings ‘all I want for Christmas is you’ and points to Sam and his little face lights up, then she points to others and his face just DROPS. I love it.

What holiday tradition are you looking forward to most this year?

A tradition that we kinda started last year was to celebrate Festivus on the 23rd of December so that my family could give each other presents before we all got too swept up by the Christmas events. We made all of the traditional Festivus foods (meatloaf but not for me, bagels, etc.), and even had a Festivus pole. This year we do have a Christmas tree but I think we can still get around Festivus this year haha.

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Always fake. In Australia there isn’t such a big deal about getting nice trees because we just don’t have them. That and they’re incredibly impractical. Cutting down nice trees for one month of the year just doesn’t sit well with me when we can buy one tree that will last us many Christmases and serve the same purpose.

15356954_10154543404762530_574231330_n
Hands down, what’s your all-time favourite holiday food and holiday sweet treat?

We always make tiramisu at my Nonna’s for Christmas and I really hope that we do it again because it’s just not Christmas without it haha.

Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I would have said I loved receiving them better up until this year when I’ve actually had money to spend on people and purchase things that I think they’d really like. I’ve definitely found a new love for giving people gifts this year and I really hope that everyone loves what I’m giving them!

385773_10150449211189531_925050807_n
Show us your tackiest Christmas attire!

I hope that you enjoy. I think this was my Mum’s and she wore it for some Christmas Marathon thing and I wanted to wear it for Christmas. This year I want to take it up a notch.

What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

Finland, hands down. Anywhere in the northern hemisphere is ideal, for the true Christmas experience, but Finland in particular because SANTA LIVES IN LAPLAND. I want to go up there so bad haha.

Does your family have a special holiday recipe you like to help make?

I suppose the tiramisu would apply to this but there’s nothing too special about it. I was planning a recipe post this year for Christmas so if you’d like our recipe for our tiramisu, I can do that. I was planning something else but if there is an interest in our tiramisu recipe, I’m happy to share!

Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

Only now that I’ve been trained on wrapping for work, I’m a good wrapper. I think the secret to wrapping well is not having too much paper. I watched my brother wrap Mum’s present on Monday and in my head I was going ‘no no no no no’ hahaha. Mine look pretty schmick this year ๐Ÿ˜‰

What made you realise the truth about Santa?

One Christmas morning, I saw Mum putting up the full Santa sack of presents on our railing and I knew then haha. I must have been 8 years old because it was in our current house. I didn’t even tell her that I knew for a few years because it was still fun to pretend.

Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

Yeah I make really loose resolutions every year so that I don’t put pressure on myself to complete them but I still have the goal in mind. Like I often try to better my health and eat better. My health hasn’t gotten worse but it hasn’t gotten better so I didn’t quite make last year’s resolution haha. This year I’m not sure what I might make a goal for 2017, there’s so much in the air about my life right now and I’m just waiting for things to fall into place!

What makes the Holidays special for you?

Everyone getting together and having a good time. I love celebrating Christmas for as long as I can and because I was brought up in a split family, I was guaranteed at least two Christmases. I loved getting to celebrate for longer and now that I really only have one Christmas, it is a bit sadder but hopefully ‘friend Christmas’ and potentially celebrating with my boyfriend’s family can fill that hole in my heart haha.

1

If you love Christmas, I would definitely recommend doing this tag at some point this month!! I’d love to know your answers!

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me onย instagram

or follow this blog!:)

Au revoirย xxx

One thought on “Holly Jolly Holiday Tag!

Leave a Reply

