Makeup Geek Haul + Swatches!

Hey guys!

I made a Makeup Geek order on Black Friday and after many angry emails to Australia Post, I came to accept that my order had been lost in the post and I got in contact with Makeup Geek to resolve it. Makeup Geek’s customer service, as always, is perfection and they sent out a replacement of my order and it arrived this week so I really wanted to share what I received and how they swatched! I hope that you enjoy the post as much as I enjoyed swatching and playing with my new pretty things!

pink-divider-no-background-md1

16326172_10154735047792530_309905242_o

There wasn’t a sale on the individual shadows for Black Friday, I was just in an excited spendy mood after I had just ordered the Tarte Blush Wheel (which also never arrived and I’ll never throw my money at Sephora AUS again, thanks). I’d been after all of these shades for a while so I took the opportunity to purchase these, with the intention of wearing these to work, actually. I thought they’d all make for appropriate lid shades (bar Secret Garden) and I could feel really special for work, but alas, they never arrived before my contract finished so now I have these pretty shadows and nowhere to wear them (woe is me).

16357875_10154735047847530_2118021189_o

Starting from the top left, going clockwise we have Starry Eyed (foiled), Nostalgic (foiled), In the Spotlight (foiled), Blacklight (duochrome), Secret Garden (duochrome), Whimsical (foiled), Cinderella, and Baby Face.

I already owned two foiled shadows, so I already knew the formula and what to expect but I didn’t have two shades that I honestly got a lot of use out of. I love my foiled shadows but they aren’t as effortless to wear as these new ones that I picked up. I was very eager to try the duochrome shadows, particularly these two shades because I adore green eyeshadow and when I saw this one swatched when it was first released I was so drawn to it. The same can be said for the purple (with blue reflect). Secret Garden is a tad disappointing but that could be because I had hyped it so much in my mind and it could also be because I didn’t give it the best swatch. I’ll only really be able to tell when applying it to my eyes but it did seem to lack a bit of base colour pigmentation. The base colour is a blackened green and the shift is a lighter, emerald green, which is stunning but the blackened green was lacking upon original swatch. Blacklight wasn’t a disappointment in the slightest.

16325368_10154735047747530_1443840534_o

Top to bottom: Secret Garden, Blacklight, In the Spotlight, Starry Eyed, Nostalgic, Whimsical, Cinderella, and Baby Face.

The two original formula shadows were great. I love Makeup Geek mattes, I think they’re smooth and really nicely pigmented. And I believe I picked up Cinderella because it was meant to be a dupe for Too Faced Marzipan from the Chocolate Bar Palette and I want to have every dupe known-to-man because that’s my favourite shade but I don’t believe that this is a dupe at all. It is a really pretty colour though.

I have a swatch video on my instagram so that you can see the shift easily, although the quality was eaten by instagram. You can view the video here >> vid

16326681_10154735048042530_129312708_o

Here is my Makeup Geek palette now, filled with the new shades. I love the palette so much. My only additions would probably be some greeny shades and the black but I’m very happy with how it looks.

pink-divider-no-background-md1

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on instagram

or follow this blog!:)

Au revoir xxx

6 thoughts on “Makeup Geek Haul + Swatches!

Leave a Reply

