PastelSparkles’ 2017 Favourites

Hi guys, gals, and non-binary pals!

I hope that those of you who celebrate Christmas enjoyed spending time with family and friends! Today, for my last blog post of the year, I thought that I would share all of my favourite things from 2017, of which, there happens to be 17! Overall, I think I will look back at 2017 with fond memories. A lot of good things happened to me this year, I got a job that I love, I traveled a lot, and spent lots of time with friends and family. I hope that you enjoy reading all about the things that helped make this year something special.

pink-divider-no-background-md

favourites 2017 (1)

1. Kat Von D Alchemist Palette

I purchased this palette while I was in Sydney and I knew I’d be obsessed with it when I first heard it was being released. I had been debating over a few different colourful highlighter palettes and when I was in Sephora, I took the opportunity to pick this one up. I adore the shades, I think they were very cleverly put together. All of the shades are suprisingly wearable and I think that because of its wearability,  this is probably the best palette to try it out!

2. Tarte Make Believe In Myself Palette

Another product that I purchased from my first Sydney trip this year! The palette contains 9 metallic shadows, one matte shadow, and one large transformer powder. I love how colourful and metallic this palette is. It is really the perfect palette for eyelid shades. All you need is a basic matte palette to pair with it. I am really glad that I picked it up this year, it’s been quite the staple in my collection.

3. Too Faced Milk Chocolate Bronzer

I’ve been trying so hard to work through my Physicians Formula bronzer so that I can finally go back to using this bronzer! I absolutely adore it. It looks so gorgeous on the skin and has such a nice tone to it! I think it’s really perfect for those of us with very pale skin! I couldn’t recommend it more.

4. The Balm Girls’ Getaway Trio

I’d been lusting so hard after pretty much all of the blushes included in this trio and then when they announced that they were releasing them as a trio palette, I was so excited! I can never get through a blush so to have them at a smaller size and a chance to try all three, I really couldn’t pass this product up. I definitely think that you should pick it up if you’re after a natural looking blush. The blushes are all matte but they’re all very pretty neutral shades. One leans more pink, one more brown, and one pretty true neutral pink!

5. Stila Magnificent Metals Liquid Glitter and Glow

I love glitter so much, and this product had been on my wishlist for a long time before I took the plunge and just spent the money on it. Originally I was going to wait for the Christmas pack of three minis but I couldn’t wait and caved when the Mecca Maxima opened in the shopping centre near me. I already have my eyes on other shades that they’ve released and I’m just trying to justify the purchase right now! I use the shade I bought very frequently and I just adore it. It makes glitter so easy.

6. Too Faced Glitter Glue

By far, the most game changing product of all the products that I’ve tried. Originally, I applied my metallic shadows and shimmer shadows with a brush and MAC Fix+ or something similar and it did the job but it didn’t give me the results that I was looking for, especially with loose pigments, like the Femme Fatale ones that I purchased this year. Now with the glitter glue, I get the exact effect that I’m looking for in my shimmer shadows! I couldn’t be happier. Every eye look is a knock out now and I honestly feel like such a princess. Where’s my brand deal, Too Faced? I got you, henny. This is the best product ever ever.

7. L’Oreal Telescopic Mascara

I only recently purchased this mascara but it is by far my favourite mascara of the year. I love the wand because its got very short bristles and they really nicely coat all of my lashes. I can even coat the top side of my lashes without fear of the brush bumping into my eyelid, ruining the look that I’d just created. It also really nicely holds a curl. I had been sleeping on this product for so long and I’m so glad that I’ve finally managed to get my hands on it and start enjoying my new lash self.

8. LUSH Christingle Body Conditioner

My skin has been pretty bad this year, especially my dermatitis on my legs and since I started using this product regularly, I’ve noticed a significant improvement in my skin. It’s not as irritated and I also really love the scent. The only downside is that it is a Christmas exclusive product, so I can’t buy a back up. My only hope is that they bring it back in the Christmas in July repromotion of the Christmas products! I really love the body conditioners from LUSH in general so I’m sure that when this one runs out, I’ll find something else to replace it with.

9. MAC Studio Fix Fluid

I feel like I found my perfect foundation this year. I’ve tried more high end foundations this year, now that I have a proper income and its been both sad and very happy because I’m now spending more money to try products that may not work for me. However, now that I’ve found I’m deeply in love with MAC Studio Fix foundation, I don’t even want to look at other foundations. It has a great level of pigmentation, which looks great when applied with a sponge, and it doesn’t cake or feel heavy on the skin. The best part is my dumb oily skin doesn’t eat it up so I stay looking fresh as hell all day. I just love the stuff and it’s the perfect colour match for me. I don’t think I could really go back to drugstore foundations after finding this. The only exception might be the Designer Brands Full Coverage foundation.

10. Coty Airspun Loose Powder

Another perfect product that I discovered this year. Because we can’t actually buy this product in store where I live, it took me ages to actually purchase this. It is by far the nicest powder that I’ve used on my face. It doesn’t make my skin look dry and disgusting, and it keeps my makeup nicely set throughout the day. I find that it keeps it looking matte for longer than other loose powders I’ve tried and it is great value for money!

11. Sash Cosmetics Lipsticks

I’ve raved about this lip product so much that I really shouldn’t say anything else about it. Please try this brand, I need them to bring out more shades so that I can buy them xoxo.

12. Paolo Sebastian X

I made a whole post about this exhibit so I won’t go on for too long but this was by far the most beautiful thing that I witnessed this year. I’m still in shock over it and I’m completely kicking myself for not having gone to the Paolo Sebastian x Disney fashion show during fashion week. For my recap of the exhibit, check out this post!

13. Gucci

This year, I discovered my ultimate brand crush. Gucci is one of those luxury brands that is so far out of my price range, I know I’ll never ever own a single item but ya gal can dream. I love everything about the most recent collections. I love the bug theme they’ve been showing throughout their pieces and I’m loving the textures and shapes that they’re creating. I could not be more in love with a brand.

14. KCON Australia 2017

The best experience that I had this year was my trip to Sydney for KCON Australia. I got to see my absolute favourite kpop group perform and I also got to see so many other amazing groups. I’m so glad that I got the chance to go. I hope that they bring KCON back next year so that I have an excuse to travel again and see even more groups. I made two videos for each of the days’ performances so if you’re interested in seeing what I experienced, please check out those videos!

Day 1

Day 2

15. Goblin/Guardian: The Lonely and Great God

This has got to be my favourite show of all time. Please, whether you like KDrama or not, give this show a go. It is by far the sweetest show I’ve ever watched, with the best story. I swear you’ll be hooked from the moment you start watching it. The acting is so good, especially from Gong Yoo and Kim Go Eun.

16. Top 20 KPOP Songs of 2017

Pastelsparkles top 20 kpop

I recently made a video of my top 20 Kpop Songs of 2017 and you can watch it here~
I’m really proud of the video and I’m very annoyed that I couldn’t publish it in an easier way but I hope that if you’re interested in viewing it, that you don’t run into too many issues watching it via this method.

17. Monsta X – Shine Forever Repackaged Album

By far, my favourite album this year was Monsta X’s The Clan 2.5, repackaged album with Shine Forever and Gravity. The whole album is excellent. Some of my absolute favourite songs from Monsta X came from this album and it definitely was the most played album of the year for me! If you haven’t given it a listen, please at least listen to Beautiful, White Love, and Shine Forever.

pink-divider-no-background-md

If you want to keep updated, you can:

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on instagram

Subscribe to my channel

or follow this blog!:)

Au revoir xxx

Leave a comment